Beat Saber Monstercat Music Pack Vol. 1 DLC Review: Fantastic Collection Of New Songs

Beat Saber Monstercat Music Pack Vol. 1 DLC Review: Fantastic Collection Of New Songs

Today is the day that Beat Saber finally gets a big influx of new music. Ever since the original game came out in Early Access on Steam almost a year ago with just 10 songs, the release schedule has been a slow trickle of one-off releases. Then when it launched on PSVR late last year, that platform got six new exclusive tracks. Now with the Monstercat Music Pack Vol. 1 DLC every platform is getting 10 brand new song that can either be purchased individually or in a bundle together for a slight discount.

The whole pack will you run you about $12.99 or just $1.99 for individual songs. The math works out so that if you’re interested in more than six of the new songs, you’re actually saving money by buying the whole pack. It’s like buy six, get four free in a way. That’s a pretty solid deal — especially when you consider the DLC is the same price on all platforms even though the game is $10 more expensive on PSVR.

Monstercat Music Pack Vol. 1 Track List

The full list of all 10 new songs in the first Music Pack DLC is as follows:

  • Till It’s Over – Tristam
  • We Won’t Be Alone (feat. Laura Brehm) – Feint
  • Boundless – Aero Chord
  • EPIC – Tokyo Machine
  • Stronger (feat. EMEL) – Stonebank
  • Overkill – RIOT
  • This Time – Kayzo
  • Emoji VIP – Pegboard Nerds
  • Rattlesnake – Rogue
  • Feeling Stronger (feat. Charlotte Colley) [High Maintenance Remix] – Muzzy

We made a playlist on Spotify so you can listen to them all ahead of time if you’d like. Some songs are slightly abbreviated versions in the game to stay within that 3-4 minute range sweet spot.

All in all it’s a fantastic selection of new songs. Chances are if you like Beat Saber and you like the existing style of music found in the game, then you’re probably going to enjoy most of the new songs on offer here in this pack. Probably.

I didn’t love all of them personally as I tend to like more upbeat tracks and not so much the heavy, grinding, bass-dropping songs that populate a lot of this selectoin. I was glad to see a lot of choices with vocal arrangements included since Escape is my favorite from the original launch track list. As a resut, Feeling Strong and We Won’t Be Alone are real standouts for me.

One thing you’ll likely notice is that all of the tracks are very similar sounding, which shouldn’t come as too much of a surprise since they’re all Monstercat artists. In the future I hope the team at Beat Games is willing to experiment with other genres more. Overkill is the only song in this pack that really ventures outside that drum and bass meets EDM pocket with an intro that’s heavy on guitar and vocals. It really rocks hard. But then there’s a bit of a bait and switch moment where it goes back to sounding like the rest.

This was my biggest issue with Audica from Harmonix as well and I’ve really appreciated the variety within its wheelhouse that Beat Saber displays, but I’m ready for a bit more experimentation finally. If anything, the modding scene has proved that songs you wouldn’t immediately think would be a good fit (such as Gangnam Style) are some of the best out there from a sheer entertainment perspective.

Other Beat Saber Updates

With today’s DLC also comes two free updates as well. For PC players they’re finally getting access to the songs that were previously exclusive to the PSVR version of the game, which brings over six new tracks for free for Rift, Vive, and Windows VR players. They’re technically dubbed “OST Vol. 2.” PC players also get the Campaign mode that debuted on PSVR for free which provides a bit more structure and defined challenges to tackle. It’s mostly a vanity feature without much real substance.

Beyond that the entire UI has been overhauled now. Before picking a song to play you can select from an “album” style menu that displays OST Vol. 1, OST Vol. 2, Extras (including songs like Virtual Self and K/DA, and finally the new Monstercat Music Pack Vol. 1 to pick from. It looks really clean and even the song menu is spruced up a bit as well.

Final Score: 8.5/10 – Great

Beat Saber is one of the first VR games to reach one million copies sold and it’s for good reason. If you’re hungry for more songs and love the signature brand of slicing blocks with red and blue sabers, then you can’t go wrong with this Music Pack. The song variety could be better and you probably won’t love every track, but at such a great value with such high quality it doesn’t get much better. Music Pack Vol. 1 absolutely solidifies Beat Saber’s place as one of the very best VR games to date.

Beat Saber, the base game, is available on PSVR for $29.99 and on both Steam and Oculus Home in Early Access for $19.99. This DLC pack is $12.99 all together or $1.99 per song. Read our Game Review Guidelines for more information on how we arrived at this score. 

Tagged with: ,

The post Beat Saber Monstercat Music Pack Vol. 1 DLC Review: Fantastic Collection Of New Songs appeared first on UploadVR.

Be Sociable, Share!